Offline mode can be utilized when there is no connection or weak WiFi at the terminal(s). Transactions can be stored on the device to sync at a later time when the network is more stable (cellular or WiFi).
How to change the Offline Mode in Activate
In Activate offline mode can be changed to 'Auto,' 'On,' or 'Off' for that specific device.
- Log into Activate and pull up the left side menu by selecting on the Account name in the top left corner.
- Find the 'Manager' section of the left side menu and then find 'Offline Mode.'
- Change the status by clicking on 'Auto,' 'On,' or 'Off.'
Note: Please ensure all orders are synced and completed before making any changes to Activate or the terminals. Transactions made in Offline Mode will be lost if they have not synced with the server prior to deleting/updating Activate, selecting 'Clear Database' or clearing data and resetting a device.
Offline Modes Available
Auto: This is used for scenarios where the WiFi or Cellular signal is typically strong. However, if the signal goes down or if a transaction takes longer than the time allotted to process the orders (as configured in the 'Request Timeout' in the Employee Roles), it will be then be completed 'Offline.' Transactions will automatically sync as network bandwidth becomes readily available.
Off: This is used in times when WiFi and/or Cellular signals are always strong/reliable. All transactions will be accepted online, meaning credit cards will be authorized or declined at the point of transaction.
On: All transactions will be done completely offline, meaning that credit cards will not be authorized at the point of transaction and all orders will be completed 'Offline.' This creates a risk of accepting declined cards.